Posted on: November 2, 2017

Chapin Hall of Fame to Induct Four Honorees on November 12

The Town of Chapin announced that four honorees will be inducted into the Chapin Hall of Fame on Sunday, November 12 at 3:00 pm in the Community Room at Chapin Town Hall. The Class of 2017 is comprised of Ewart John “Jack” Edgerton, Jr., Herbert “Hub” J. Lindler, Heyward D. Shealy, and Richard “Dick” B. Weldon. Mrs. Betsy Edgerton will accept the honor on behalf of her late husband.

Billy G. Griffin, a member of the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2010, has been instrumental in reviving the Hall of Fame program for the community. He coordinated with former Hall of Fame members to put a selection committee together, updated the selection criteria and worked with staff at Town Hall to organize the awards ceremony and reception, where he will also serve as the master of ceremonies.

“The four recipients are all well-deserving of this honor, and we are grateful for this opportunity to acknowledge their collective contributions to the Chapin community,” said Chapin Mayor Skip Wilson. “We look forward to enjoying this time of recognition with their families, friends and of course, our existing Chapin Hall of Fame members. I appreciate Billy and his committee’s efforts to get this important program back on track.”

The awards ceremony will begin at 3:15 pm, followed by a reception for the honorees and their families. The public is invited to attend.

Read more about the Class of 2017
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email